Welcome to the
ILLINOIS HIGH
SCHOOL & COLLEGE
DRIVER EDUCATION
ASSOCIATION
                  Educating Teens in Driver Education
                  since 1952

Endorsement
program

The IHSCDEA has partnered with 
University of St. Francis to provide Driver Education
courses for educators interested in pursuing a Driver
Education endorsement.
Apply Now

2022 Regional Fall Workshop Schedule: All 10 regions are now available for online registration.

Learn MoreREGISTER HERE
Team Store

Team Store

The IHSCDEA Team Store is now open! Please click on THIS LINK to shop the store. The deadline for ordering is Sept. 29th
Driver Education

Driver Education

The IHSCDEA has partnered with University of St. Francis College of Education to provide Driver Education courses for educators interested in pursuing a Driver Education endorsement.

Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame

Since our inception in the early Fifties, the IHSCDEA has a group of distinguished individuals recognized for their commitment and dedication to Illinois driver education and traffic safety.

Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year

We recognize individual instructors every year who are outstanding educators.  The purpose of these award is to give recognition to driver and traffic safety education teachers who exemplify the highest standards of their profession

Current News

Stay up to date with news and opportunities in the Driver Ed. community.
Illinois School Safety Project

Illinois School Safety Project

The ILLINOIS Student Safety Program (ISSP) HAS BEEN created BY GILLESPIE HIGH SCHOOL MPACT’D (Minors Preparing and Caring for Teen Driving) WITH THE SUPPORT OF THE IHSCDEA (ILLINOIS HIGH SCHOOL COLLEGE AND DRIVER EDUCATION ASSOCIATION) JANUARY OF 2020.
Read More
NEW! State Farm Grant Series: Driver Education Students with Special Needs

NEW! State Farm Grant Series: Driver Education Students with Special Needs

This year, the State Farm Grant Series is offering six free online workshops discussing the topic of students with special needs. Registration is free and CPDU's will be available for active IHSCDEA Members

Learn more and register here

 

Illinois Schools Incorporate Driving Simulators into Classroom Curriculum

Illinois Schools Incorporate Driving Simulators into Classroom Curriculum

VDI has installed over 130 driving simulators in Illinois school districts including Community High School District 94, Hinsdale South High School District 86, Hinsdale Central High School District 86, Libertyville High School, Valley View Community Union School District 365U, West Aurora School District 129, Wheaton Community Unit School District 200 and more...
Read More
Job Openings

Job Openings

Looking for job opportunities in the Driver Education field or do you wish to post an opening?  This is your place for both.
Read More

grants & curriculum

Take a look at some of the grant opportunities and curriculum offered to Driver Education programs.

Pedestrian/Bicycle Safety Grant

The ISSP and the IPHA are excited to announce that eligibility to apply for one of the ISSP grants has been EXPANDED.
Read More

Electric Vehicles for Education

The ComEd Electric Vehicles (EVs) For Education Program is available to public schools in the ComEd service territory that operate an internal Driver Education Program and meet other specific eligibility requirements as described in this document. IHSCDEA Has developed a companion curriculum to help teachers educate their students about E-V's. Click HERE to view the curriculum.

Apply for A comed EV's 4 ED Grant here!

State Farm Contact Reporting

If you have used any State Farm resources or had a State Farm agent speak at your school, please take a moment to fill out this form.
Read More

Enhancing Motorcycle Awareness in Education, Licensing, and Outreach Stakeholder Webinar

Please join us to learn more about this project, sponsored by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), to enhance motorcycle awareness in education, licensing, and outreach. 
Two dates to choose from:
September 23, 2022
11 am - 12 pm EDT /10 - 11 am CDT/9 - 10 am MDT/8 - 9 am PDT/5 am - 6 am HST 
or 
September 26, 2022
3:30 - 4:30 pm EDT/2:30 - 3:30 pm CDT/1:30 - 2:30 pm MDT/12:30 - 1:30 pm PDT/9:30 am - 10:30 am HST

Read More

Think First Injury Prevention Program

Because a leading cause of injury is motor vehicle crashes, we place an emphasis on traffic safety, teenage drivers, and current crash research.
Read More

Illinois Corn Ethanol Education

Fuel pricing and availability have rocked the headlines in recent months. These issues, as well as which vehicles and fuels are the most sustainable, might be conversations you’re having with your students and new drivers. In response, we are providing the following information about the choice they make deciding which fuel to put in their vehicle and we need your help! We created a brand-new video that we would love for you to share with your students to educate them on ethanol blends.
WATCH THIS SHORT VIDEO TO LEARN MORE

Bike Safety Quiz

a first-of-its-kind resource developed by Ride Illinois that teaches adults, children, motorists, and truck drivers how to share the road safely.
Read More

Illinois School Safety Project

This year's ISSP focused on bicycle and pedestrian safety. Please click on the link to veiw the materials that our Illinois students created.
Read More

National Youth Safety Council Service Learning Grant

Service-Learning Grants - Rolling  Deadline

Take action on Teen Driver Safety or Education Equity in your community! Open to U.S. schools and nonprofits, leadership teams (two students and one adult) will receive free training, materials, monthly support, access to peer learning community, and a $1000 grant to implement their campaigns. A limited number of teams will also be selected to present at the 2023 National Service-Learning Conference in Nashville, Tennessee, with registration and travel expenses paid. Space is still available, and applications will be reviewed daily until all grants are allocated. Hurry - the program begins Oct. 11th! Learn More and contact NYLC with questions. APPLY NOW

ABOUT IHSCDEA

The Illinois High School & College Driver Education Association is a professional teaching organization that was established in 1952. We are composed primarily of high school and college driver education instructors, supervisors, coordinators and safety enthusiasts throughout Illinois. We have over 700 members & represent over 600 public high schools in Illinois.
Image
Image

Illinois Driver Education Endorsement Programs

MEMBERSHIP THAT MATTERS

Our members receive many benefits that are crucial to the profession.  There is regular communication on important news as well as information for better teaching.
Image

Member Benefits

  • Member Portal
  • Idea Journals
  • Legislative and Professional News
  • State and Regional Conferences
  • Online Documents and Webinars
Image

CORPORATE MEMBERS

& AFFILIATES

nea
iea
adtsea
driver ed market
ride illinois
os brake
nsc
SIU
ABATE
Ameren
State farm
PED
ISBE
cyberdrive
virtual driver interactive
Strive for Independence
COMED
Give them a brake
NHTSA
distress Bandanna
Gift of Hope
Youth Prevention Resource Center
AAIM

Meet the Board

Positions to the Board of Directors are elected by IHSCDEA members. Terms of office are different for each position but elections are held annually.

logo

Educating Teens since 1952 in Driver Education

IHSCDEA
Wayne Hartmann
waynehartmann5661@gmail.com

Follow us